855060I have mixed feelings about this book. On one hand, it was a decent read. It wasn’t the book I expected to read and certainly not what the synopsis painted it to be. It started like the mystery novel it should be: the neighbour’s dog is killed and Christopher, the protagonist, wants to know who’s the killer. We’re also introduced into Chris’s world: his school, his routine, his likes and dislikes, his way of thinking. It was an engaging read, though Chris doesn’t find any leads for his investigations. He might have if his logical brain had understood other people’s feelings better.
By the time we understand who the murderer is, we are much more concerned with another discovery: Christopher’s mother isn’t dead. She lives in London with the man she eloped with.
This second half of the book felt dull and boring. The narrator repeats himself over and over, which I found a bit heavy at this point. Christopher takes everything literally and that’s how he explains himself. Since the book is written in the first person, there’s a lot of repetition that stands in the way. I can understand when he repeats himself about his dislikes and the things making him uncomfortable. However, the “he said” and the “then I said” during the conversations, for instance, slow the narration without adding anything to it.
Truth be told, I could have accepted any and all repetitions if the story had been handled a bit better. The meeting with his mother, her reaction, the two of them going back to Swindon and the ending felt a bit rushed. I would’ve preferred to see how Christopher reworked the relationship with his father, for example. The mother’s internal struggle is another thing I wish we could’ve seen. I know this is impossible because of who narrates the book, but I believe it would’ve been rather interesting to explore.

I understand why it is so praised and recommended so much, despite having a style that is bound not to suit everyone’s tastes. It’s a successful portrait and study of a character. Unfortunately, I can’t really look past how bored I felt after around page 140. It was nice, but it had its flaws. Don’t read it if you want a story. Read it if you want to get into someone else’s mind.

firma

Leave a comment